stage 2

RYA Youth Scheme - Stage 2

This course is designed to follow on from Stage One. During the course, sailors will start to learn the basic skills, and build confidence on all of the techniques taught in Stage One.

Whilst having fun we are aiming to teach rigging, launching and recovery, sailing techniques and also sailing theory and capsizing. During this course you will learn:

  • Rigging – rig a dinghy, put boat head to wind to rig.
  • Sailing techniques – speed control, stopping, close reach.
  • Launching and recovery – in an offshore wind.
  • Capsize recovery.
  • Ropework – knots.

Pre course ability required: must have skills and knowledge to Stage 1 standard

Course Dates

Course Dates (Weekends)

Sat 13th and Sun 14th April··· Sat 27th and Sun 28th April

25th and 26th May··· 22nd and 23rd June

Sat 27th and Sun 28th July··· Sat 24th and Sun 25th August

Sat 21st and Sun 22nd Sept··· Sat 19th and Sun 20th Oct

Course Dates (School Holidays)

Mon 27th and Tues 28th May··· Mon 29th and Tues 30th July

Mon 5th and Tues 6th August··· Mon 12th and Tues 13th August

Mon 26th and Tues 27th August    Mon 2nd and Tues 3rd Sept

Course Costs

£68

   
© Erith Yacht Club